Book Review: A Better Quality of Murder

To start off, I’m going tell the silly story of how “the book found me.” Feel free to skip ahead and go straight to the book review.

After class, I decided to go to the mall and buy myself some pearl shake. Aimlessly wandering, I stumbled upon Booksale… of course, I had to go in. Without the intention to buy a book, I started to scramble through the overwhelming amount of books looking for something that might interest me. It frustrates me how I cannot go through each and every thing, that I might be missing a great book. Anyway, I was squatting below the table rummaging through softbound books. As I lift the stacks of books aside, it reveals the book spines underneath it. The first word that struck me was “murder”, I have to pick it up, of course.

My mouth was wide open as I read, “Evil lurks in the streets of Victorian London”—I hugged the book. I love the Victorian era, ahh… and mystery and murder. While I was in a deep bliss, I have constructed a certain phrase, “You don’t find a book, the book finds you.”

(The silliest reason why the book felt perfect for me aside from having everything I love rolled into it, is that two of the significant characters had the same surname as me, well the English version of my surname.)

Now for the actual book review,

17424615_10202791789833272_8965568035212225922_n

Synopsis: “Evil lurks in the streets of Victorian London…As Inspector Ben Ross of Scotland Yard walks across Tower Bridge the fog swirls around him like a living beast. Reports that a figure known as the River Wraith has been terrorising young women on nights like these give Ben cause for concern, and rightly so. By the time the fog has lifted a woman lies murdered in Green Park. Allegra Benedict was the beautiful wife of a renowned art dealer, but why had she been selling her brooch in the Burlington Arcade just hours before her death? Investigations reveal more than one reason why someone might want her dead…”

First off, it was the first book I read from Ann Granger, so I was not familiar with her writing. I really did not know what to expect. It was a quick read book and it was not as dark as I hoped and thought it would. I mean murder is a morbid subject, but it was not graphic or shocking. Nonetheless, I still enjoyed it.

I was going to finish the book in one sitting but then I decided to give it the night off, just so I could have the time to savor, analyze, and construct theories. Well, my guess on who is the killer was right, but not totally right. 😉

I love the addition of real paintings in the book. Thanks to the internet, I could easily look it up and it makes me feel like I was there. In a way, it connects the characters in the book and the readers even more.

I could not put the book down and I found myself flipping through pages again and again.

Even though, again, the subject is murder. I found it “light hearted”, a very contradicting description but that’s how I felt reading it. Inspector Ben Ross had a dry sense of humor and I found myself giggling in few of his lines.

Mind that this is the first book I have read from the Inspector Ben Ross series. Now, I have to search through every single Booksale in this town! I did not like the ending but I want more. That’s a good thing. The book left me hanging, without any definite ending—leaving a room full of possibilities.

Leave a Reply

