The Classic 50s & 60s

Vintage, VINTAGE! I’m a sucker for vintage. I am an old soul but child at heart. I especially love the Victorian era and the 50s & 60s era. On this post, I will be tackling my love for the 50s and 60s!

The 50s and 60s might be classy and glamorous especially in the movies, but racial segregation, sexism, racism, and discrimination are prevalent in those time—more like a norm. However, I love the 50s & 60s in the aspect of fashion, beauty, artistry, and vibes! The 50s & 60s is my aesthetic.

Vintage pieces are simply stunning, I’m obsessed with its intricate and delicate design. One of the main reason why I love vintage is for the stories it holds. It stood the test of time and the old sometimes deteriorating facade makes it even more special (just like abandoned places.)

Image result for vintage pieces
vintage bottles… I’m obsessed with vintage bottles. Photo courtesy of elementsilove.com
Related image
I’ve always wanted these as a kid! Photo from Pinterest.
Related image
Photo courtesy of Glamourdaze.com (which has a YouTube channel I’m obsessed with.)

The 50s & 60s Fashion

I draw fashion inspiration predominantly from the 50s Beatnik and 60s Mod (also 90s.) I just love the collar dresses, stripes, high neck/turtleneck tops & dresses, cropped tops, white canvas shoes, and oh, the high waists! I want to live in high waisted bottoms. I personally think nothing flatters my body type more than high waists.

Image may contain: one or more people and people standing
High neck top and high waisted bottom. (50s beatnik with a hint of 90s vibe) *my photo*
Image may contain: one or more people, people standing and shoes
Shirt dress and white canvas shoes scream 60s Mod to me. *my photo*

 

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, shoes, child, stripes and outdoor
Stripes. *my photo*

 

 

Image result for francoise hardy
Françoise Hardy

 

Image result for audrey hepburn funny face
50s Beatnik | Audrey Hepburn
60s Mod | Twiggy

Image result for 60s high waisted shorts
Marilyn Monroe.

Image result for marilyn monroe pictures black and white full body

Image may contain: 1 person, sitting
Elizabeth Montgomery as “Samantha Stevens” in Bewitched.

The 50s & 60s Beauty

Image result for 60s girls
Fringe, FRINGE!
Related image
Françoise Hardy

Image result for vintage beauty products

Image result for vintage hollywood vanity

The 50s and 60s women really took care of their appearance from the outside and within. From their strenuous hairstyles and classic makeup to their complex morning and night skincare routines. No wonder that some of the most beautiful women known today are from the 50s and 60s.

Image result for audrey hepburn
Audrey Hepburn with her statement brows and cat eye.

My ultimate fashion and beauty icon is Françoise Hardy.

Otra de François:

Françoise Hardy. #the2bandits #lookswedig:

Francoise Hardy:

ballion: “ Françoise Hardy in the recording studio, 1960s. Photo by Jean-Marie Perier. ”:

Jean-Marie Perier - Photographe - Francoise Hardy:

The 50s and 60s fashion and beauty is the epitome of class and elegance.

Favorite Shows and Movies from the 50s & 60s

The Twilight Zone (1959 Series)

It is a Sci-Fi series created by Rod Serling aired in 1959. The first ever episode I saw, was when I was about 4 or 5 years old and it was “A Kind of Stopwatch.” Every episode has a different story, characters, and twists. Each episode ends with a lesson—all beautifully, hauntingly, and cleverly written by Rod Serling and other amazing writers. My favorite episode is “Number 12 looks just like you.” The show is definitely ahead of its time. This particular episode was set in the 2000s. It depicts society’s obsession with perfection and beauty—that being flawed, unique, and different is being ugly. One of my favorite quotes that I live by is from this very episode; “Being like everybody is the same as being nobody.”

Image result for being like everybody is the same as being nobody
Amazing artwork. Credits to its unknown creator.

Image result for number 12 looks like you

Bewitched (1964 Series)

Samantha Stevens, a classic beauty, and a witch! This lighthearted and funny show surely lightens up my day. Not to mention Mrs. Stevens aesthetically pleasing outfits and makeup every episode is to die for.

Image result for samantha bewitched dresses
Classic beauty.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961)

Image result for breakfast at tiffany's

A classic. Need I say more?

Image result for breakfast at tiffany's scenes

House on Haunted Hill (1959)

Image result for house on haunted hill 1959

I need to watch more 50s & 60s horror movies. Will update this one.

Image result for house on haunted hill 1959

Okay… I have to add my favorite movies that are not from the 50s nor 60s but is about the 50s and 60s!

The Help (2011)

Image result for the help movie

Behind the glitz and glamor of the 60s, is racial segregation and discrimination. This movie shows you the truth about what the colored people had gone through during this era. Also, a must see for the aspiring writers. This movie has a special place in my heart.

Big Eyes (2014)

Image result for big eyes movie

It is a biographical film about the life of American artist Margaret Keane in the 50s and 60s. She is famous for her Big Eyes paintings who once Walter Keane—her husband, took credit for. Years and years later, she finally realized that she has to stand up for herself and take credit for the success she deserves. One of my favorite painting of all time is from Margaret Keane.

Image result for the stray margaret keane
The Stray by Margaret Keane

Theory of Everything (2014)

Image result for theory of everything

Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones are two of my favorite actors of all time. To see them in one screen that was predominantly set in the 60s is a delight. Also, cannot help to swoon over Jane Hawking’s (Felicity Jones) wardrobe.

Image result for theory of everything

Hairspray (2007)

Image result for hairspray 2007

Not really a fan of musicals, but this one is an exception. The 60s outfits and setting got me hooked.

Mona Lisa Smile (2003)

Monalisasmile.jpg

Set in the 50s, Katherine Ann Watson (Julia Roberts) teaches History of Art at Wellesley College. At first, I was criticizing Julia Roberts wardrobe and her entire get up. She looked really out of place in the movie, like she’s from the 2000s. Her entire get up does not speak the 50s to me. It made sense at the end because she values independence, she does not conform and she certainly does not want to be the typical 50s housewife. Her wardrobe was a subtle way to indicate that Katherine Ann was not the typical woman.

I have more movies in mind. Keep in touch with this one because I will keep on updating this section!

More photos and reasons why I love the 50s and 60s

Image result for kitchen in the 50s and 60s
Kitchens.
wolftramp:“Vintage Blog ”
Film Cameras and Film Photography

As an aspiring photographer and filmmaker, I’ve always dreamed of working with vintage/analog cameras. Film processing is an art form in its own right.

Polaroids, POLAROIDS.
ddddv
Vintage tutorials.

Image result for vintage food advertisements

ddddv
Vintage commercials.

I would spend extensive hours of watching endless vintage commercials and videos.

the-cozy-room:“ clubmonaco: “ Correspondance has become somewhat cold with technology, but there are some of us who still have the urge to get an old typewriter and write the way our grandparents did. -That Kind of Woman ” ☼ coziest blog on tumblr...
Typewriters.

This makes the writer in me so happy.

Vintage jewelry.
Image result for 1967 chevy impala supernatural tumblr
1967 Chevy Impala, baby!

The 50s & 60s is my aesthetic. Hands down my favorite era along with the Victorian era.

Stay Weird, Dee x

Uncredited photos courtesy of Tumblr or Google.

Leave a Reply

